Privacy leak on Eufy cameras
The problem has become reported on Reddit and confirmed by several users. One user reports that he looked into the app from New Zealand and found that he had been shown camera images that were not his own. It would be another user in Australia, whose contact details could also be seen. The affected user has three young children and is concerned that others will be watching him as well.
Strangers could watch and make recordings
Another user noticed that the hub (the so-called original base) showed red light, but nothing happened. He then looked in the app and saw images of someone else’s doorbell. Users also report that they can access all information in someone else’s account, including the live stream. It was possible to operate the camera, by turning it and tilting it. Moreover, that person could record videos with the record button and then save them to their own phone. This camera was located in a completely different place on the globe, in the Los Angeles time zone. People can access live feed, history, events and more.
Most of the reports are from Australia and New Zealand, with people accessing the cameras in the United States. However, it could also have to do with time zones, as there are many people in the United States who are still in bed now.
People find the idea of being able to watch with other people quite scary, but they also wonder if their own camera is still safe. Disconnecting and then reconnecting seems to be the solution. In the meantime, it is better to turn off your Eufy camera.
Anker, maker of the Eufy cameras, has yet to comment on the privacy leak. If you are using Eufy cameras in combination with HomeKit Secure Video, your video footage should be safe, but this is not entirely certain.