Facebook officially launched the deployment of Unique display function of WhatsApp. “We are rolling out the feature for everyone this week”, says Facebook. In addition to the Android and iOS application of WhatsApp, the option is also available in the web version. The feature gives users of the app “more control over their privacy,” according to the company.
A photo or video sent with a “single view” is only displayed when the recipient clicks on it and after opening it disappears from the chat conversation. There will be a notification that the message has been opened, if the person has enabled read receipts.
Within 14 days
Images sent using this feature must be opened within 14 days or they will expire. It is not possible to transfer, save or view a single-view photo or video. Files are not saved in the recipient’s photo gallery.
Icon with a 1
The function can be used by pressing the “1” icon in the caption area when adding a photo or video. The option must be selected manually each time.
No screenshots notification
Facebook warns users that even when sending messages with a “single view”, it is possible for recipients to save the content. For example, the recipient can take screenshots or screen recordings, or take a photo of the phone screen with another device.
WhatsApp does not automatically detect screenshots or recordings and does not notify the user, as some other chat apps do.
Messages with expiration date
WhatsApp has long had the ability to automatically delete messages after seven days. This is called ‘messages with expiration date‘.
From app test the short mind also the possibility to automatically delete messages after 24 hours.
WhatsApp also recently launched a public essay a function in which the chat service can also be used on four other devices in addition to the telephone. These devices no longer need to be connected to the phone.
“Bacon trailblazer. Certified coffee maven. Zombie lover. Tv specialist. Freelance communicator.”